Skip to main content

Alumni in Action

Meet WSB’s New Dean’s External Advisory Board

By Alumni Relations

July 30, 2020

The Dean’s External Advisory Board at the Wisconsin School of Business has been reimagined and established to enhance the reputation and reach of the School through the experience and leadership of its members.

The Dean’s External Advisory Board is a diverse group of alumni and business leaders who have attained prominence in their fields. The initial 19-member board will work closely with WSB leadership as advisors, advocates, and ambassadors for the School within the business community and in partnership with the School’s extensive alumni network. Board members serve at the invitation of Vallabh “Samba” Sambamurthy, Albert O. Nicholas Dean of the Wisconsin School of Business.

“The members of the new Dean’s External Advisory Board represent a wide range of experience, perspective, and expertise,” says Dean Sambamurthy. “I look forward to working closely with them over the coming years as they help the School advance the priorities outlined in Roadmap 2025, our strategic plan.”

Colin Welch (BBA ’92) Partner and Managing Director of TSG Consumer Partners, is the inaugural chairperson of the board and is eager to engage new perspectives to advance the mission of the WSB.

“I am excited about the diversity of perspectives of our board, bringing together a global network of professionals from a variety of industries, to help the WSB innovate and continue to enhance its reputation as a leading business school,” Welch says. “I see significant potential to make a meaningful impact by leveraging our collective passion, experience, and networks in partnership with WSB leaders, faculty, students, and alumni.”

WSB Dean’s External Advisory Board members include:

Pat Ackerman (BBA ’83), Senior Vice President-Investor Relations, Treasurer, and Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, A. O. Smith (Milwaukee)

Nízida Arriaga (MBA ’91), Manager of Fixed Income, Wespath (Chicago)

Ericson Chan (BS ’90), Chief Executive Officer, Ping An Technology (Shenzhen, China)

Mike Culhane (BBA ’84), Chief Financial Officer, Uline Inc. (Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin)

Gayle Fuguitt (MBA ’80), Founder/Chief Executive Officer, Tempus Futures (Minneapolis)

Michelle Gile (BBA ’88), Vice President, Cleo (New York)

Lynn Girotto (BBA ’90), Chief Marketing Officer, Amperity (Seattle)

Sean Jacobsohn (BBA ’94), Partner, Norwest Venture Partners (Palo Alto, California)

Tom Kalinske (BS ’66), Executive Chairman, Mixed Dimensions (San Mateo, California)

Dan Kelly (BBA ’84, MBA ’85), Chief Financial Officer, American Family Insurance (Madison)

Dale Nitschke (BBA ’84), Chief Executive Officer, Ovative Group (Minneapolis)

John Peirson (BBA’84), Deloitte Risk & Financial Advisory (Minneapolis)

Angela Russell (MS ’01), Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, CUNA Mutual Group (Madison)

Robert Schmitz (BBA ’74), Managing Director, Fulcrum Advisory Asia Pte Ltd (Singapore)

Cheryl Stallworth (MBA ’81), Co-Founder, (New York)

Adam Taetle (BBA ’90), Senior Managing Director, Evercore Group LLC (New York)

Colin Welch (BBA ’92), Partner and Managing Director, TSG Consumer Partners (New York)

Tom Westrick (BBA ’90), Vice President, Chief Quality Officer, and Head of Regulatory Affairs, GE Healthcare (Milwaukee)

Jim Wuthrich (BBA ’86), President, Worldwide Home Entertainment and Games, Warner Bros. Entertainment (Los Angeles)