Skip to main content

Press Releases

Applications for 2015 Dane County Small Business Awards Now Open

By Wisconsin School of Business

April 2, 2015

The Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Wisconsin School of Business will help recognize small businesses that are taking risks and building their success stories right here in Dane county. Nominations are being accepted for the 2015 Dane County Small Business Awards to honor small businesses and their owners for their contributions to the local economy.

“This is a chance to highlight people who have taken on the challenge of launching a small business and are really contributing to the vitality of our communities,” said Neil Lerner, director of the SBDC. “Because that’s what small businesses do—they create jobs, they generate opportunities, and they support their neighborhoods.”

In order to be considered for an award, the business must:

  • be a successful for-profit company in business for at least three years (or for 1-3 years for an emerging business award);
  • have a minimum of three full-time equivalent employees, including the owner;
  • maintain a responsible and rewarding workplace environment; and
  • provide support (in-kind or financial) to their neighborhood/community.

Awards will be considered in the following sales and revenue categories—less than $1 million, $1-5 million, $5-10 million, and $10-20 million. Nominations must be submitted by April 24, 2015 to the SBDC. An online application is available here.

The sponsors of the Dane County Small Business Awards include: Chase, In Business magazine, Madison Gas & Electric, Mid-West Family Broadcasting, the State of Wisconsin Supplier Diversity Program, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Small Business Development Center, and the Wisconsin Business Development Finance Corporation.

The SBDC at UW-Madison is part of an accredited Wisconsin network of 12 centers located at four-year UW campuses.  Wisconsin SBDCs are funded and managed in collaboration with UW-Extension and are part of a national network of nearly 1,000 centers.